The requirements to get a Colorado real estate license are straightforward. Like anything involving state licensing authorities, there are some hoops to jump through. This is a good place to start. Do you meet all of these requirements?
You are at least 18 years old
You have completed 168 hours of real estate education with the following mix of subjects:
You may bypass the 168 hours of Colorado real estate education if you hold a degree in real estate from an accredited college or university.
You must pass both the state and national portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam.
You must pass a criminal background check.
Note: Licensed attorneys may apply to become associate brokers in Colorado with an abbreviated set of requirements: Provide proof of an active law license, complete 12 hours of education in trust accounts, closing and record keeping, pass the state and national portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s exam and pass the criminal background check.
A real estate license is required for most real estate jobs. Colorado has requirements you must fulfill before they will let you get a real estate license. None of them are difficult, but they must be completed before you can start your real estate career.
You can apply to take the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s exam after you have completed the licensing education requirements. PSI is the exam vendor for the State of Colorado and you can contact them to schedule your exam here.
Colorado requires candidates to purchase errors and omissions insurance from an approved insurance provider as part of their real estate broker’s license application. You can purchase the insurance from any approved provider you like, or you can use the provider contracted with the state of Colorado for their group policy. Either option is acceptable.
You must submit all the required documents with your real estate broker’s license application–education, background check, proof of errors and omissions insurance and anything else that applies to your situation. The application can be completed online through the eLicensing system.
The fee for an original broker license application is $200 and the broker examination fee is $44.95.
All new licensees in Colorado must work under the supervision of an employing broker. Choosing a broker is an important decision and we can help you with that. Keller Williams training has been ranked the best in the business and we are committed to helping our agents succeed. Click here to be connected with the right person in charge of hiring at the Keller Williams nearest you.