A Quickstart Guide : How To Get A Real Estate License In Arkansas

Step 1: Make sure you meet the basic requirements

 

  • You are at least 18 years old
  • Complete 60 hours of Arkansas pre-license education, 30 hours of which must be in the basic principles of real estate
  • Pass the Arkansas real estate exam
  • All of the license application fees and forms are completed and sent to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission within 90 days of passing the exam
  • IMPORTANT: 30 hours of post-licensing education must be completed in the first six months after passing the state exam and becoming licensed (cannot be completed before passing the exam)

Step 2: Register for real estate licensing classes

 

A real estate license is required for most real estate jobs. Arkansas has requirements you must fulfill before they will let you get a real estate license. None of them are difficult, but they must be completed before you can start your real estate career.

You are required to complete 60 hours of pre-license courses before you can take the state exam. There is no expiration to the credits you earn for those 60 hours. Also, you must complete 30 hours of post-license courses in the six months after passing the exam in order to keep your license.

 

The best Arkansas real estate school we have found is this one.

Step 3: Apply to take the Arkansas real estate exam

 

You can apply to sit for the state exam after you pass your Arkansas pre-licensing course. The Arkansas real estate exam is offered at five locations:

  • Little Rock–Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
  • Springdale–Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday
  • Texarkana–Saturday
  • Shreveport, Louisiana–Saturday
  • Memphis, Tennessee–Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday

 

You can apply to take the Arkansas real estate exam while you are still taking your pre-licensing courses, but you will have to submit evidence of passing the course before Arkansas will issue you a Certificate of Eligibility to sit for the state exam.

The state exams are managed by Pearson VUE, which is an independent testing company. All the exams are taken on computers provided at the testing centers.

Step 4: Complete the Arkansas real estate license application

 

Arkansas requires the following before they will process your license application:

  • $86.25 in the form of a cashier’s check or money order for an FBI background check, and Arkansas criminal check and the state application fee
  • A completed real estate license application form
  • A completed fingerprint card (can be obtained at a local law enforcement office)

 

Step 5: Choose a sponsoring broker

 

All new licensees must work under the supervision of a broker. Choosing a broker is an important decision and we can help you with that. Keller Williams training has been ranked the best in the business and we are committed to helping our agents succeed. Click here to be connected with the right person in charge of hiring at the Keller Williams nearest you.

Open chat
Hey there! How can I help you today? (I am a human, so it might take me a minute to respond if I'm not looking at my phone).